Ditch the Desk

Posted: June 22, 2013 in Thought Fulls., Uncategorized

Image

Much like the historical tale of women of the 1960’s burning their bras for equal rights, I am challenging the teachers within my District to “Ditch the Desk”. Removing one of the very familiar icons which said “I am your teacher, I am in charge, I am the leader,  do not question, do what I say,  watch me and repeat.”

Brave teachers who remove the iconic desk say “Let’s work together, I am ready to collaborate, I want my students to take charge of their learning, I am ready to allow you to discover, I will not hang on to piles of busy work papers and traditional means of assessment! I am ready to redefine!”

It is much more than just a piece of furniture, it could be the start of a change!

Leave a Reply

