I Shouldn’t Watch the Actor’s Studio.

Posted: February 6, 2012 in Thought Fulls.

Where is my craft services table? Where is my assistant? Where are my questions James Lipton? I need to tell the world that other any profession beside my own I wish to try is to be a Home Shopping Network host and my favorite curse word is…*takes a small breath*  ah well..not going to be happening anytime soon but it is the path I choose. (Did I tell you all I was a theatre major for most of my college career?….Maybe explains some things.)

This all got me to thinking why I do love teaching…I know I do cause sometimes the worse part of my job is choosing what to wear each day. (oh to be able to teach every day in yoga pants…dreams dreams) And I love it more than just the 3 typical reasons – June, July and August – *insert rimshot*.

And low and behold, I present to you –  last Thursday. A 6th grader approached me after class and asked if I had any extra mice because his family just got their first computer but it didn’t come with a mouse. I have to assume it was a hand me down.I have a bucket of mice that are just collecting dust, so it was pretty simple to find one for him.

After giving it to him, he thanked me started to head out of my lab, but took a moment and asked very simply “How much do I owe you?”

My face warmed and I told him “just a couple A’s on your next report card.”

His response “I can do that now.”

Will technology magically make him a straight A student? No. Does he now have a tool to aide him in his learning? Yup.

It is these small moments I am gifted with weekly by my students that make me love teaching. So thanks Dago, thanks Shakia, thanks Juan, thanks ‘Fred’, thanks Teddy, thanks Busy Lizzy, thanks to all the students who are swirling in my mind making me smile as I write.

Leave a Reply

