xBox – Round 2.

Posted: December 20, 2011 in Uncategorized

“I will not give up, I will not give up, I will not give up..” My mantra as I stood  swinging my hand around trying to get it to register on with the sensor. And, of course as I was trying  – I realized I could use the controller for what I was trying to select. Dap Nabbit.

This is one of the more frustrating parts of using Kinect.. that I can’t determine when I can use the controller and when I am -forced- to use the sensor.. but all is well and good and tada –  we have created three new book reviews.

So just like any and all experiences in the classroom, there are stumbling blocks, I have realized that I always need to find good guinea pigs. Students who will give up some of their free time to test out ideas with me… but the lesson learned is to find students whom will step up and use the downtime that occurs during experimenting and use it for good and not Pandora.

Back to the start of my 2nd round of xBoxing. Three girls were chosen by the literature teacher to join me and present on the Kinect. Here is what we learned.

  1. Fix the lighting. I tried with using only natural light and that failed.. we were much more successful once we had all the overhead lights on and the shades drawn.
  2. Put your faith in a gamer. One of the students informed me that she “played too many games at home”, giving her the controller was the best thing I did.  Horray for hidden talents.
  3. Notecards. Each student made some notes on their own and it helped them produce the reviews.
  4. Allow for retakes – cause sometimes “my girl’s arms just look weird”.
  5. Change the avatar appearance on the xBox Live website. While one student was presenting, another was playing dress up, we just waited to click “save” until one recording was all done. Worked like a charm.

I just can’t wait for all the firewall issues to be fixed so we can collaborate and have book talks with other xboxers. It actually sounds as if I am a bit excited there….

Comments
  1. Mick says:

    Steady there… It almost sounds like you’re having fun!!!

    Oh and happy new year!!!

Leave a Reply

