Spotify.

Posted: December 19, 2011 in Apps.

Oh how I love thee, let me count the ways….

  • For $9.99, I can get any song I want.
  • I do not have to purchase the latest Bieber song for my daughter – who will play is constantly for two weeks and then lose interest in 2 weeks and one day!
  • Listening to the cat’s meow Feliz Navidad without owning it FOREVER.
  • Offline listening.
  • Legally allowing my students to make a playlist for class celebrations.
  • Supporting start-ups.

Now that I have completed my poetry task for the day, let me explain. Spotify is basically renting music, instead of buying it (at first I thought it was going to be like the Columbia Record House Club.. boy was my mom angry when I sent away for that … but it is sooo not).

Download Spotify to your ‘puters or idevices, subscribe and let the good times roll. I have searched for and listened to any song I desired, yet to not find a song, I even found an old time Christmas radio show – The Cinnamon Bear – that I wanted to share with my classes.

But wait, Kim.. do I have to stream all this music, what about my data usage. Ohhhh nooo.. you non-believers…you can download your music to your devices and listen to it offline, even setting Spotify to be offline.

Thank you, dear Swedish startup company, I will not have to own Fly by Nicki Minaj for the rest of my life!

Comments
  1. JCV says:

    Nah, I can’t get down with this one homie.

    When it comes to music and books I like to own and everything is for free 99 on the innanits.

  2. Colleen Ray Spiegelman says:

    In grammar school my principal read “The Cinnamon Bear” to the whole school everyone Christmas! I’ve wanted to find it for my students! Thanks Darche! Keep up the writing!

    • creativeteaching says:

      I heard it in 8th grade and I never forgot it. We had to draw as we listened and it was such a lovely memory.

Leave a Reply

