Computers are Stupid.

Posted: December 14, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags:

I alert that to my students at the start of every year. And, in fact, they are stupid. Unless a student or a teacher or anyone with the ability to find an ON switch instructs the computer to do something. Often times when a students beckons me over with “My computer just… (shut off, flipped its screen upside down, printed 50 copies of the same book review ) ” and then comes the time when I must gently remind them that -computers are stupid- and it is us the user that ‘made’ it happen. We then, of course use it as a diving board for learning how to not do what we just did when we did what we did and blamed the poor stupid computer.

Now that brings me to a point somewhere, I knew it would. There are plenty of schools out there that do not have computer or technology classes anymore. Some due to budgetary constraints, and some are of the belief system of -learn as you go-. Now there is me:

Well, I believe in the keyboard, word processing, shortcuts, menus, the mysteries of the right click, A,S,D,F J,K, L, :, a good Save As, that the vision of Steve Jobs will go unmatched. I believe the value of text wrapping is remarkable. I believe there ought to be a constitutional amendment outlawing Comic Sans. I believe in the sweet joy data sorting , opening your file storage and your work actually being there and I believe in beautifully formatted papers which include headers and footers. I believe allowing students to finish elementary school without computer classes is like buying furniture from IKEA and not being supplied with the instruction manual. (Thank you Bull Durham for the inspiration) .

Comments
  1. Lilly says:

    You go girl!

  2. Colleen Ray Spiegelman says:

    This is my favorite one! Ahhaahaa!

Leave a Reply

